Blogia
Titiritero de palabras

I don't mind a parasite. I object to a cut-rate one

I don't mind a parasite. I object to a cut-rate one

 

Os ruego me disculpéis quienes no entendéis inglés. Hoy me pide el cuerpo copiar aquí este diálogo de Casablanca, y tengo algún motivo para ello, si bien no lo puedo escribir públicamente. Pido disculpas por las alusiones crípticas, quien me tiene que entender, lo hará, a l@s demás os pido disculpas y os emplazo a disfrutar del diálogo ( quien no sepa inglés, tiene aquí una excelente excusa para empezar a aprenderlo: podrá empezar a apreciar , en su mejor versión [ traduttore traditore !!!! ] joyas incomparables de la literatura, y , singularmente, el cine universales. Besos.

Ugarte (sadly): You despise me, don't you?

Rick (indifferently): If I gave you any thought, I probably would.

Ugarte: But why? Oh, you object to the kind of business I do, huh? But think of all those poor refugees who must rot in this place if I didn't help them. That's not so bad. Through ways of my own I provide them with an exit visa.

Rick: For a price, Ugarte, for a price.

Ugarte: But think of all the poor devils who cannot meet Renault's price. I get it for them for half. Is that so parasitic?

Rick: I don't mind a parasite. I object to a cut-rate one.

Ugarte: Well, Rick, after tonight I'll be through with the whole business, and I am finally leaving this Casablanca.

Rick: Who did you bribe for your visa? Renault or yourself?

Ugarte: Myself...I found myself much more reasonable. (He takes an envelope from his pocket and lays it on the table.) Look, Rick, do you know what this is? Something that even you have never seen. Letters of transit signed by General Weygand. Cannot be rescinded, not even questioned. Tonight I'll be selling these for money than even I have ever dreamed of, then addio Casablanca! You know, Rick, I have many friends here in Casablanca, but somehow, because you despise me, you're the only one I trust. Will you keep these for me, please?

Rick: For how long?

Ugarte: Perhaps an hour, perhaps a little longer.

Rick: I don't want them here overnight.

Ugarte: Don't be afraid of that. Please keep them for me. Thank you. I knew I could trust you.

Rick takes them up. Ugarte leaves the table just as a waiter arrives.

Ugarte: Oh, waiter. I'll be expecting some people. If anyone asks for me, I'll be right here.

Waiter: Yes, monsieur.

The waiter leaves. Ugarte turns to Rick.

Ugarte: Rick, I hope you are more impressed with me now, huh? If you'll forgive me, I'll share my good luck with your roulette wheel.

He starts across the floor.

Rick: Just a moment.

Ugarte stops and Rick comes up to him.

Rick: I heard a rumor that those German couriers were carrying letters of transit.

Ugarte hesistates for a second.

Ugarte: Huh? Oh. I heard that rumor too. Poor devils.

Rick looks at him steadily.

Rick: You're right, Ugarte. I am a little more impressed with you.

0 comentarios